DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Mechasys
by Seamus C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/16/2021 08:36:43

"Offering a ton of options along with additional rules from mecha minions to new pilot and crew incidentals/maneuvers/actions to a mecha critical hit table, all of which nevertheless plug easily into the existing structure of Genesys, Mechasys offers not just a detailed effort to bring mecha adventures to the table, but an accessible one." - Seamus Conneely

Read the full CHG review here: https://cannibalhalflinggaming.com/2021/04/16/mechasys-review-mecha-sized-adventures-in-genesys/



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mechasys
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Inquisition: Genesys Medieval Dark Fantasy Setting
by Rayna I. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/13/2021 18:02:12

Great supplement. Inquisition is unique and interesting, a different take on fantasy settings with approaches to things you won't see elsewhere. It keeps true to its era, capturing a very different place and time. The lore around magic particular is original and unique, bringing back the ritualistic old school magic in a way that could open all kind of pathways for storytelling opportunities. Overall, very well done! I strongly recommend it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Inquisition: Genesys Medieval Dark Fantasy Setting
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Boons and Banes
by James W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/09/2021 08:53:12

Another great product from Chris. I used it to add flavour to some pregens I made for a one off intro game. I loved the end results.

Allows you to tweek your character to get it more like you want while adding a uniqueness to them. I liked the story building elements allies, enemies, contacts and favours (owed and owing). Great for plot hooks. Also the boons for getting extra starting wealth or a special piece of gear via an heirloon are great to get what equipment you visualise for your character starting with.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Boons and Banes
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Mechasys
by William B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/28/2021 10:10:13

Great product, perfect for running any sort of mecha inspired game. Most attempts at mecha games either get bogged down in too much crunch or keep things extremely loose and narrative. This product finds the sweet spot between those two different approaches, enough depth to keep players engaged, but streamlined enough you can get it on the table quickly



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mechasys
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Inquisition: Genesys Medieval Dark Fantasy Setting
by Peter H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/25/2021 08:14:20

i have been playing Inquisition for about four months now. I had a friend talk me into playing because low fantasy is not really my jam. But i have to say this game is wonderful. They player experience has been very unexpected! Trying to navigate the choices one has to make in this game has been a joy. Nothing is black and white so you really have to think through your decisons and all the ramifications. The world is well thought out and fun to explore. with an intellegent GM, even the most mundane of adventres takes on a whole new dimension. So, 4 months of almost daily play has made me a beleiver. Just get the damn thing!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Inquisition: Genesys Medieval Dark Fantasy Setting
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Inquisition: Genesys Medieval Dark Fantasy Setting
by Noah E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/25/2021 07:18:29

The Inquisition setting is a deep, immersive experience of what life would have been like in medieval times, with a dark fantasy twist of course. As a serious fan of history, I was eager to try out Inquisition, esecially since it uses the Genesys system, one of my favorites, making the learning curve of the game so much easier and faster. I've been blown away by the attention to detail and by the love and care put into this source book by its author, and I'm excited to see more of this setting in future releases.

Highlights of the game I've particularly enjoyed:

  • The selection of weapons and armor, making each choice feel unuiqe and impactful.
  • The archetype and career choices and details therein made my decision what to play thoughful.
  • The lore of the game was a fascinating read, and I appreciate the cohesiveness and consistencey of the different powers and factions.
  • I've greatly enjoyed the combat, interacting with townsfolk, peasants, as well as rubbing shoulders with the elites, those in power, as well.

10/10! I highly recommend this Genesys source book to anyone who's a fan of the Genesys rpg, history, great settings, and people who love role-playing in fantasy settings.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Power Play: An Android Mini-Campaign
by Martin D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/19/2021 08:10:44

I completed this adventure last night and overall I liked it a lot. The investigations leading up to a climactic social encounter was a fun change of pace from my group's more typical "sneak and shoot" style of play, and I like how the PCs' chosen goals for the final encounter significantly change who takes on what roles in the story.

When I ran it, one of the PCs had recently gotten a cyberarm so I had him personally experience the malfunction a couple of times as the hook into the adventure. The party ended up allying with the "good" option as soon as they had a good idea of what was going on, so I used the CEO's death and upcoming board meeting to put a time limit on what remained of their investigations. I felt that added a much-needed sense of tension to the proceedings -- otherwise they're largely free to move at their own pace through the story, and the CEO's death comes quite late in the adventure. (Appropos of nothing, the PCs rolled a massive success with Triumph and Despair on their final check at the board meeting, which is frankly the most fun result at the best possible moment. I like to think of Triumph + Despair as the "situation fundamentally changes" result.)

I had a couple of minor complaints. The aforementioned lack of time limits might work fine for some groups, but I think it leaves the investigation feeling a bit like the old criticism of D&D adventures where you have four orcs just frozen in place, waiting for the PCs to walk into their room. GMs might consider how to institute a couple of deadlines earlier in the adventure to keep the pressure on, depending on the PCs' reasons for investigating in the first place.

Second, the adventure suggests several interactions between the PCs and Damion, but never provides a clear way the PCs could become acquainted with him -- in fact, it seems to go out of its way to make sure he's a nonentity from the PCs' perspective, having him undercover at a remote location and not really coming up in the story except as "Oh yeah, he's the leader of this organization" until quite late in the adventure. I would advise GMs running this module to work in information that encourages the PCs to learn more about Damion as early as possible.

Still, these issues are small and easily worked around. This was a fun adventure that provided some great variety in my game, and I like how it presents the corporation as something other than a sinister monolith.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Power Play: An Android Mini-Campaign
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Terrinoth Talents
by James W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/14/2021 04:51:06

So many new Talents! Great companion book to Trades of Terrinoth or better yet combined into one product (hint Chris!). Apart from the obvious use, the Talent Trees also help me give me inspiration and flavour to my adversaries.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Terrinoth Talents
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Skill Adventures
by James W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/14/2021 04:32:38

A very cool take on the Skill Challenge concept. The concept of a Total Success and Fail per check rather then adding successes and failures was simple, nice and makes it work over other concepts I have tried. The Complication section in each challenge added a lot of theme to each challange. We have used the concepts in this book for many of our stories to add non combat related challenges but still have fun rolling the dice. One thing that would have added another element for me would have been a section on results for a Total Failure on a check. ie some kind of cost to the PC or group to increase the tension (basics would be wounds or strain,but a section like Complications would be cool).



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Skill Adventures
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Terrinoth Treasures: Volume III
by James W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/14/2021 04:11:03

A great addition to the Terrinoth series. Runebound shards are a key setting element in Terrinoth, so to have all these new options is awesome. Also great as generic magic items that allows both spell casters and non spell casters to use it different ways. I plan to use them in my Eberron conversion as a variant use of Kyber crystal etc.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Terrinoth Treasures: Volume III
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Timmorran's Tome
by James W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/14/2021 04:01:41

A huge book of spells! Can be used to get inspiration, ideas of how to create spells, or to use to add spells to adversaries. The New Additional Effects for spells is great. Has added a "level" to each spell for those looking for a more traditional D&D approach, although I was not sure how the level was assigned and its relationship to a spell's difficulty.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Timmorran's Tome
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you so much! The level approach is tied more to the character's ranks in the casting skill, to restrict more powerful magics with something more than just difficulty. There's a section at the beginning which goes over it more. If it isn't in the preview, I'll make sure it is. ;) - Thanks!
Goblins' Gambit
by James W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/14/2021 03:46:35

I don't normally buy Adventures prefering to make my own, but I was curious to see what Chris would create given the quality of his other products. I was not dissapointed. A nice adventure. Has a detailed village to use as a base, with some interesting npcs. Lots of combat encounters, some cool magic items, and a couple of twists and turns to keep things interesting. Great for anyone wanting to get into a fantasy adventure.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Goblins' Gambit
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Wealth: A Ruleset for Funds and Commerce in Genesys
by James W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/14/2021 03:32:58

I had been toying with a skills based wealth system, and this pretty much hits it on the head. I like the Character Creation section and how the new wealth rules affect it. As it mentions it is aimed at modern day settings where a person's wealth does not fluctuate much, but it would have been cool to see how the system could be applied to more fantasy settings ie how a small or large windfall is incorporated.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Wealth: A Ruleset for Funds and Commerce in Genesys
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Starcana - The Silver Files
by James W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/14/2021 03:21:05

A nice expansion on the Starcana world. A lot of addition world building detail. The expanded magic section is great. I love the section "Learning Spells" and how difficulty adds are restricted based on magic Ranks. I am going to use a variant of that in my own settings!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Starcana - The Silver Files
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Starcana Everything New is Old
by James W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/14/2021 03:20:27

My only comment is, "Where is the next one!" Adds a good feel on how the Starcana setting is meant to work.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Starcana Everything New is Old
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 433 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates