DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
PrecisRoller 2 (Windows Version)
by Andy T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/07/2021 15:44:02

AMAZING! It installed without a hitch (Windows 10) and is so simple to use. I am very impressed and recommend it to anyone who roleplays with their computer or laptop nearby.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
PrecisRoller 2 (Windows Version)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Coyote Trail: More Trails
by Marc C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/07/2021 00:12:01

This is a great supplement for all of GDi, not just Coyote Trails. You can build sniper-type characters or enhance firearms combat using the optional advanced combat action rules here. They include: Precision Ranged Attacks, Precision Damage, 2D6 Head Damage Chart, Random Hit Location chart with alternates for punching and kicking, Cover Modifiers, and modifiers for bracing (a firearm), silhouetted targets, and off-hand shooting. Oh, and a table of difficulty levels for detecting gunshots. All of these would seem to work great in modern or even future settings with little or no modification. Thanks to the publisher.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Coyote Trail: More Trails
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Disposable Heroes Fantasy Statix 2: Humanoids
by Ian D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/20/2021 19:02:44

The size of the A-frame miniatures are appropriate for 15mm scale at 100% scale when printing. Scaling your print to 110% makes them closer to 28mm scale, but then the miniatures are cut off by the printer's minimal margins. You'll have to print on a larger paper than normal 8.5x11 inch paper/cardstock and adjust the scale to make the minis closer to 28mm. Other than that, the images are good. You may wish to label the minis to remember what's what as Precis only uses a number code.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Disposable Heroes Fantasy Statix 2: Humanoids
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Stormrift RPG
by Marc C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/17/2021 22:32:16

Stormrift is a really impressive RPG package in a book. You get more than enough story and system detail to fire the imagination. Also I get the feeling that it would be really, really easy to play kaiju-type games with this book, because some of the creatures are huge and literally named things like "Kajii" which I hope wasn't a coincidence!

GenreDiversion 3E is really simple to use but also has a reasonable amount of crunch to it. You'll find a lot of charts and values for characters, creatures, and vehicles, but the book also includes a lot of helpful examples to aid new players and GMs.

This is a terrific value in a fun product that can easily get the imagination going. Thanks to the publisher.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stormrift RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks for taking the time to add your thoughts.
HardNova 2 Revised & Expanded
by Marc C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/03/2021 17:48:08

This is a terrific deal on a space RPG. It is really well-designed and pleasant to read. There are tons of extras included, like a lot of different pre-gen character templates you can use.

If you love space RPGs, pick this one up for sure. If you are a beginner to space RPGs, you might like the way this game has all the batteries included.

The publisher has also made it clear that you can use their newer genereDiversion 3E system with this game, making the gameplay even easier on the GM and players. It's also less of a deadly system.

Finally I'll just mention that I loved seeing that there's an included scenario which is basically Disney's "Black Hole" with the names changed. It was a lot of fun to imagine my Sligg (amorphous blob) character playing a role in the plot.

The publisher also sells HardNova II printable character standees and there are some additional free downloads on their website.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
HardNova 2 Revised & Expanded
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Character Archaic FRP (Vol 1: The Primer)
by Sean P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/27/2021 10:44:30

I had hoped The Character Archaic was a distillation of the noted games from which the author claims inspiration with an addition of something original. Unfortunately, this game is merely derivative and unnecessarily crunchy.

First, the writing and layout are both clear. Thank you! That earns three stars in itself and sets this game apart from the masses. No amount of artwork and layout genius compensates for poor copy. Well done.

The Character Archaic (TCA) uses four primary character attributes: Prowess, Brawn, Insight and Wit. In terms of the classic six atributes, these are roughly: DEX, STR, INT, CHA. However, any time you go from the classic six to fewer, there is some overlap.

The primary attributes are fine, but TCA uses the term Compond Attributes for attribute modifiers. I think the term Compond Attributes is less clear than Skills, Talents of even Specialisms (though I loathe that particular term). Examples of Compond Attributes include three types. Here is a sampling: SIMPLE: vivacious +1, quick-witted +1 EXPLANATORY: more charming than a bar wench +1, can see well in the dark +2 SPECIFIC TO PRIMARY ATTRIBUTES: good lung capacity +1 (Brawn), cerebral +1 (Insight), worst aim in history -3 (Prowess)

Finally, TCA includes Special Attributes, "Special Attributes describe an unusual talent, power, or disadvantage." An example of a Special Attribute is the Dwarves cultural (not racial!) ability to See in Darkness.

Once you get past the overuse of "attribute," TCA generally uses a roll + modifiers versus a GM-assigned target number. All dice are d6, with the base roll being 2d6 (though TCA abbreviated 2D). Rolling high is good. A roll of twelve (boxcars) explodes as does a two (snake eyes).

TCA uses two types of health, wounds and stress, both with scales to penalize attribute rolls as your character becomes more injured. Both stress and wounds heal with time, but time frames leaning more toward reality than the insta-heal naps that power murder-hobo games. There are rules for first aid, potions and magical healing, though a magic system is not included in this volume.

The equipment and armor lists are very nice, but the section on Equipment is full on crunch for tracking encumbrance, armor per hit location, different protection based on the armor in each location, etc. Not for me, thank you.

As you might guess from the armor focus, combat is a ticky afair, too. In addition to the simple math (attacker's (Prowess Attribute+Compound Attribute) vs defender's (Prowess Attribute+Compound Attribute)), there are rules for grappling, charging, determing the impact of a missed ranged attack, parry, block, hide, hit locations, different damage effects by weapon type... Had enough? I have, so I'll not detail the several other rules for different types of damage. By this point, I know I have no interest in playing this game. I'd rather play something narrative and fun without the bookkeeping and tracking of rules.

In summary, The Character Archaic is a well written, clearly presented game full of crunch. It isn't Rolemaster-level crunch, but more old school than I care to play.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The Character Archaic FRP (Vol 1: The Primer)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks for taking time to provide your feedback. The crunch level is between genreDiversion 3E and MasterBook, closer to the former with a damage system similar to the latter. Generally speaking, it is not all that crunchy. You have a basic mechanic and then a few options here and there for adding more detail to combat exchanges. There is a basic and an advanced method for applying damage for those who like simple and those who prefer being able to produce other effects (like damaging armor/weapons and knocking someone over or back), respectively.
Swords & Six-Siders Expanded Edition
by Rudy C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/26/2021 16:08:41

Swords & Six Siders is a very simple "rules light" RPG meant to evoke an experience similar to the very first RPG (fans of OSR will know which one I'm talking about). The game uses a single d6 die to resolve everything and is incredibly easy to learn. Don't let the simplicity fool you, there's still a very solid and fun gaming experience to be had. Character generation takes literally minutes (I'm not exaggerating, the time it takes you to roll up stats, pick a race & class, and choose a name, some weapons, armor, misc. gear, and spells is about 5-6 minutes). Characters start at level 1 and can advance up to 6th level, however there are rules that allow for progression beyond that point should everyone wish to continue using their characters. In the grand tradition of OSR, you'll find combat to be very fast yet deadly (even for higher level characters). Enemies are represented with a single stat which encompases things like how hard they are to hit in combat (their "armor class" if you will), and how many hit points they have. You'll find all the "classic" enemies like orcs, goblins, hobgoblins, skeletons, and dragons, along with high tech enemies like robots. If it's not immediately obvious, this game is very rules light, so players (and GMs) that want more "crunch" to the rules might want to look at slightly more crunchy rules-light systems like Sharp Swords & Sinister Spells. For the price of a cheap pizza you & your friends will find a nice enjoyable game to play either in-between campaigns or as a nice change of pace. Highly recommended!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Swords & Six-Siders Expanded Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Lasers & Six-Siders
by Bob V. G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/14/2020 14:29:30

Well, first I tried the Hero Kids RPG system with The Smugglers' Port Hero Gamebook (also on DriveThruRPG). This adventure is 90 pages long and has 105 “chapters”. I used the Brute character from the original rule set. My brute did not make it all the way to the end. He was killed by Lord Zantar’s two attack droids. - - So, I decided to try it again with a free RPG system: Lasers & Six-Siders (DriveThruRPG). It has 71 pages and uses six-sided dice. I rolled up a tech guy who liked to fix up drones. He was an interesting character who made it further in the adventure. He found a healing potion, an interesting ring, and two damaged drones that he could fix later. However, when he had to fight Rex the Bounty Hunter he died. When I try this the third time I am going to bring out the Big Guns! Give this RPG a try!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Lasers & Six-Siders
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

EarthAD.2 Expanded RPG
by Marc C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/25/2020 14:03:59

This is a really incredible deal for a full RPG with tons of extras. I am using EarthAD.2 to enhance a campaign in the Twighlight:2000 universe, and it has given me a lot of creative ideas that I'm excited to integrate. The system is easy to learn and there is a lot of support, as well.

Not only does the book have a page full of guidelines for conversions from other RPG systems, but the RPG itself uses GDi, so you can easily combine EarthAD.2 with the other GDi games. For example you could integrate HardNova II races, characters, or spaceships for a First Contact campaign, or use the Forts rules from Colonial Record to make various post-apocalyptic shelters, barricades, castles, or armies.

A big Thank You to Precis for releasing this title.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
EarthAD.2 Expanded RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

HardNova 2 Enhancement Pack
by Matthew T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/04/2020 22:09:22

I am in contact via email with Precis Intermedia and I hope we will have a long relationship. I am so engrossed into Precis Intermedia's RPG variety. This Enhancement Pack is essential even if you have the newest release of Hardnova II which comes expanded. Only about 1/4 of this Enhancment Pack is new; the rest is in the expanded new edition. There is information in this Enhancement Pack that details how to level up anything as well as linking weapon systems to fire with eachother instead of taking two triggers/two actions.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
HardNova 2 Enhancement Pack
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Shatterzone (Classic Reprint)
by Marc C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/23/2020 18:12:54

I LOVE the artwork in this book. It really primes the imagination. The GM Guide's hilariously macabre airlock (prank?) illustration on page 41, the tense liftoff scene on page 53, the "Abe Lincoln, space sniper" portrait on Player Guide page 13...just to name a few. It's a terrific book for space sci-fi inspiration. This is another great value from the publisher.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shatterzone (Classic Reprint)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

HardNova 2: The Intercosm
by Marc C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/23/2020 18:04:14

This is a terrific add-on for HardNova. I bought HardNova II and couldn't wait to pick this one up afterward. The sheer number of pre-built characters, ships, and other background information is really appreciated and makes the game more colorful. I've already printed off some of the characters to run a space dungeon crawl.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
HardNova 2: The Intercosm
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Disposable Heroes Sci-Fi Statix 1: HardNova
by Marc C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/23/2020 18:02:03

I really appreciate that Precis are supporting HardNova with this product. The art is creative and colorful. The Migado Diplomat cracked me up and my kids enjoyed examining the various characters. I really recommend this set if you're running HardNova or just like the Sci-Fi theme. The printing options are also appreciated.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Disposable Heroes Sci-Fi Statix 1: HardNova
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Disposable Heroes Cyberpunk Statix 3 (2020)
by Marc C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/23/2020 17:58:30

You get a lot of value out of this set, and you can choose from a variety of styles for printing. I have an old 1990s synthesizer keyboard and had to laugh when I rested a few of these figures on the keyboard, and realized it looked just like a cyberpunk landscape. Way to go Precis and thanks for the variety of formats and instructions.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Disposable Heroes Cyberpunk Statix 3 (2020)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Coyote Trail Expanded Edition
by Marc C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/23/2020 17:56:22

This download is absolutely packed with value. You really can't go wrong if you're interested in the wild west. I hope to use some of the other systems to play a first contact scenario using HardNova II, or involve some other sci-fi or horror elements (Ghostories). Big thanks to Precis for their value-added approach to these games.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Coyote Trail Expanded Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 335 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates