DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Harm City: An Adventure for Trinity Continuum: Æon
by Sasha M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/24/2021 00:41:06

This is a solid Aeon one shot with a lot of potential to adapt to an existing campaign (as I did) or pick up and run to try out the system. It is well organized - you do want to read through it before you run it, but once you're familiar with where the adventure is going it's easy to glance down and find what you need. As someone still figuring out Storypath, it's been a good example of how to write my own session notes.

The content is divided by scene, with the 'core clues' the characters should discover and suggested difficulty for key tasks seperated for quick reference. Scenes are designed to be flexible, with suggestions for different strategies your players might take or places and npcs you might improvise. Stats for major npcs are included as you need them. I would have appreciated a bit more guidance on running combat for a psion npc - I'd suggest reading up on the relevant aptitude and figuring out a few options and their dice pools ahead of time. If you happen to have Terra Firma it's worth reading more about a certain faction, but not necessary to run the adventure.

It took my party of 3 (somewhat advanced characters) 2 sessions, totaling 5-6 hrs. We skipped through some scenes (I didn't end up using the 'action set piece') but my existing campaign (which had me move the adventure to a different planet) added content, too. Final combat was very easy after the abberants the group has fought previously, but the mystery and social elements kept things interesting. Psionics (clear, vk, pk) were helpful, but not adventure-breaking, and you could definitely run this with all talents if you wanted to.

Overall, great product, definitely would recommend and will keep an eye out for more...



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Harm City: An Adventure for Trinity Continuum: Æon
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dragon-Blooded: What Fire Has Wrought
by Kyle A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/23/2021 02:39:14

I love this book. It gives the dragon bloods a great unique feel and shows even weaker how dangours they can be. DBs are my favorite and this system doesnt disappoint. My only complaint is Water Dragon Bloods are kinda weak and no elemental combos for team work



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dragon-Blooded: What Fire Has Wrought
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Theoi Expanded
by Chazz K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/22/2021 15:52:48

This is a great look at expanding the Greek Gods available for Scion. I would say the best value would be having a consolidated list of additional gods with potential storyhooks based on their place in the modern setting of Scion. I especially love the elevation of Greek heroes that would have been Scions in ancient times to godhood.

But this guide doesn't end with the gods! Chapter 2 offers a bunch of storytelling ideas that fit with the Theoi as a pantheon along with a bunch of player options for new Relics and two new well designed Denizen paths.

Finally, Chapter 3 stats up a bunch of classic Greek monsters, which are handy to have for use.

Layout and art use is solid and professional.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Theoi Expanded
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Promethean the Created 2nd Edition
by Edward C. O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/14/2021 12:57:59

this game, is... interesting, on one hand it is the definitive book that shows how Chronicles of Darkness themes and tone should be! i mean, playing as a frankenstein monster? all the while being chased, hunted down, while trying to atain humanity? it's really good!

i bought the physical book and it stands out nicely on my book shelf!

the positives aside, my biggest problem with this game, is that it isn't group friendly. this game is perfect for one-on-one play, however it's really difficult to have 2-4 players play a Promethean. however, if you want a Promethean, they work for a mixed Chronicles game, and they make great antagonists and npcs.

i give this a 4 star because while the themes here are excellent, gameplay wise, it works only for one on one play, but it's great information for a NPCs or antagonist.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Promethean the Created 2nd Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Demon Translation Guide
by Adolfo D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/13/2021 03:04:14

A totaly must have if you, like me, didn't liked the whole technology thing from the God Machine Chronicle. My complaints are two: The translation guide from Vampire the Masquerade to Vampire Requiem where better organized.

THEY DON'T HAVE CONVERTED CHARACTER SHEET to use The Fallen on the Descent system. So you will need to print The Descent sheet and improvise.

Update:

Unfortunately, after re-reading Demon the Fallen on the old world of darkness and then trying to run a game using this one, I found myself frustrated and having to carry 3 books in my hands: The core of demon, this and then the demon the descent. And not only that, but the organization here is terrible and many mechanics are missing explanation. They didn't even tell how to convert the fact that in apocalyptic form a demon can absorb lethal damage as bashing and I had to come up with a way based on what I know from playing Vampire the Requiem. Temporary/Permanent Torment and Faith? They converted it as breaking points and some sort of power attribute that completely destroys the original way it was conceived on the first book and again, I had to come up with a way to fill the gap and bring those things back.

If you want to run a demon the fallen game, this book will offer you a shortcut, but keep in mind that you'll need to do some heavy lifting to make it work.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Demon Translation Guide
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Hunter: Mortal Remains
by Edward C. O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/08/2021 14:48:23

a good source book to "update" hunter to the God-Machine Chronicles rules, plus how to hunt the newer monsters is a bonus. my only complaint, is that i wish there was a hardcover option. also the updated pdf character sheet comes from this book, just an FYI



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Hunter: Mortal Remains
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Exalted 3rd Edition
by Jens T. J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/08/2021 07:34:11

Let me start by saying I love the Exalted setting, and the setting work done in this version is outstanding. However, after having played two campaigns as the storyteller I've finally given up on third edition. The system is overwhelming. Not only does it have a very steep learning curve, but the sheer number of charm (comparable to spells or feats from other systems) and their complexity forced the storyteller into a constant state of information overload. They introduced a "quick" npc system, but the system failed to streamline npc charms in any useful way.

Secondly, the system introduced the concept of fluid initiative. Initiative not only serves to determine your turn order, but it is also both a sort of hit point and your damage dice pool... and it is very swingy. It is extremely hard to turn the tables on someone, once you are behind. Further more action economy hits very hard in this edition. While "realistic" the core mechanics favor superior numbers. This means that in order to challenge five players you need at least five NPCs of roughly the same power-level. Here the complexity of the game strikes again for running five NPCs of such power-level is extremely time-consuming. As such a battle can easily take around 5-10 hours in real time...

Thirdly, the quality of the charms vary wildly. Some of them seem very polished and integrate into the base system in fun ways, a lot of them are simply dice adders adding little to the actual story, and some seems to be wierdly out of sync with the base game. An example of the latter is the number of charms using what the game calls "defining intimacies". Defining intimacies are core values that your character would be willing to kill or die for, and realisticly a character should rarely have more than one or two of those. However, some charms seem to assume that you have a handful or more (integrity charm tree I'm looking at you), while other are capable of giving people a defining intimacy towards you with no resisted roll... We had one player in the group giving everyone else a defining intimacy of lust towards his character. That turned out quite anticlimatic because people had a hard time actually playing out the intimacy on a defining level. The charm in question would have been much more reasonable if it only gave a major intimacy. Also... the Craft rules... just don't go there. It is a dark place.

Speaking of intimacies they are at their core a very good idea, but the whole social conflict system can feel a bit artificial. Sure the gm can assign bonus and penalty dice based on the roleplaying performance (stunts) and the way PCs frame their requests, but for solars focused on social conflict it rarely matters. The excellency alone can give you such a big load of dice, that you can pretty much start building any intimacy you want in another character... if your suggestion isn't vetoed with a willpower point. So depending on your perspective it is either overpowered or completely useless.

In the end I would like to offer a piece of advice. If you want to play Exalted 3rd Edition I really recommend a small group. 1 to 3 players would probably work fine. Smaller numbers speed up combat, and make it way easier on the storyteller to construct challenging and credible encounters. Personally I will probably be using the Fate Core system the next time I want to run something in the Exalted universe... alternatively I will be waiting for the Exalted Essence edition, which Onyx Path has announce. It might be the Exalted Light that I've been wanting all along.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Exalted 3rd Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Esoterica of Mars
by Patryk A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/06/2021 18:33:05

DISCLAIMER: My heavily modified campaign has been on hiatus for over a year now so I may be viewing this product through rose-tinted glasses. I also acknowledge that the original book for Cavaliers of Mars has its share of flaws.

The book here features both adventures and resources to mine. It's pretty well laid out (in a cross between old-style WhiteWolf Vampire and WhiteWolf Scarred Lands d20 3E era way), with a focus on providing material that is instantly usable.

An example of such approach would be that a typical location entry goes like this: a title, an introduction a few paragraphs long depicting the locale, followed by short lists of action hooks, characters and hazards.

Furthermore, the lightness of the system enables presenting elaborate characters in just a few lines of text (page 14th example): Beatria Monterez, Red Martian noble duelist (Quick Blade d10, Cashflow d8, Noble Connections d6; Combat 2 Strike/1 Parry; Trouble: Quick to Anger). Red Martian is a species available to players, noble duelist is a descriptive description of one's calling, with rated features following (an average human would probably use d6 here, d10 is exceptionally high for an NPC).

The setting of Cavaliers of Mars is one of high adventure. There are mysteries, exotic and wondrous challenges, conflicts abound, and all of this set against slowly declining glory of terraformed Mars of fantasy far future. NPCs

The book content in short (the counts include full page images):

Book One - City of Towered Tombs features a set of locations in a city of Vance, a few personality archetypes followed by NPC implementations, list of political factions that could be either allies or adversaries with action hooks.

Introduction (to the city of Vance),

  • 5 pages (four of which are full page illustrations.

Chapter 1: Locations (7 locations - see above for the format), no maps or pictures. If I were to run a story set there, I would probably get a few photos of Santorini streets (minus the water, plus some photoshopped reds or sepia). The places are evocative and easy to drop into a game, though if the players ask too many questions, you need to be prepared. Personally, I would make sure to have a few ideas prepared for quick escape routes, social complications or a generic map for swashbucklers playing hide and seek.

  • 8 pages

Chapter 2: Characters (16 archetypes, plus 2-3 characters each; a character is a paragraph of stats, and then a long paragraph on their background). Among the archetypes there are: Solitary Wit, Weary Soldier, Survivor, Mistreated Villain, Malign Influence. It's easy to assemble a full cast of colorful people to make sure your PCs have someone to talk to.

  • 15 pages

Chapter 3: Factions (9 organizations; their basics, their good side, their bad side and related hooks). The information is brief and quite lacking (no organization charts, no spheres of influence or resources), but that's not necessarily an issue - there are NPCs in the previous chapter, so all you need to do is map the stuff on the fly (to make sure that you remember whom you made an employee of and with what agenda).

  • 8 pages

Book Two is a campaign (quite a lot of optional material) written in Robert E. Howard and Edgar Rice Burroughs fashion. It is intended to be high adventure, so expect chases, magic, plot twists, and the unspeakable and the unfathomable. I would hate to give away the story, so here are a few details hopefully sufficient to make an informed decision. The core cast sports simple agendas, but the way they may go about them aren't necessarily so. So it's easy to follow the opening of the narrative and the key question is what happens next. A GM will need to juggle groups of influence, and to this end in the group descriptions there are Action and Trouble sections, the former to create an opportunity for an action sequence (not necessarily a fight or chase), the latter to introduce a complication once certain conditions are met.

  • 17 pages

Heartily recommended.

NOTES:

  1. A GM should be ready to map the story as it goes - listing stuff touched by the PCs, so that it can be revisited later.

  2. Myself, I have been charmed by the game, and I plan to run it as soon as the C-Flood subsides to the point offline gaming becomes viable. The high adventure plays best when you can loudly articulate the tension, and envelop the players in a cacophony of the bizarre that the Cavaliers of Mars are.

  3. If the system is not wholly to your liking, consider running it with CortexPrime. The NPC stats convert practically one to one (just ignore the combat part). Generate PCs using two stat sets (Abilities and Skills, Methods and Motivations or something similar), 2-4 distinctions to describe character's story (origin, careers, inclinations and specialties), and use Talents as tags that add to an action allow for more at the cost of temporarily lowering one stat (for example, Network of Whispers [talent] added to Respect [Motivation stat] and Eloquence [Method stat] means that you rely on your informants to get juicy bits, and the information should be good enough to justify temporarily lowering a stat). Lower Resolve by one step and use as HP for NPCs. And you're done.


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Esoterica of Mars
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Pages of the Demigods
by Alain G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/06/2021 04:37:31

This is a really neat product if you want to develop the demigods in your Scarred Lands game, including some of the most obscure demigods from Asherak for good measure (that's one of the strongest point for me, to understand how these gods plan to expand their base of worship to Ghelspad, it's reall cool). You get a bunch of NPCs with nice backstories and purposes, which can make really colorful encounters (some could be encountered during Dead Man's Rust, or on a Fenrilik campaign), plus the stats of a demigods avatar if you want to go kill a god (NB: that could be training for the finale of a certain SV campaign XD)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Pages of the Demigods
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Pirates of Pugmire
by Patrick B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/01/2021 08:44:24

Once again, a great great book for PUGMIRE ! (encore une fois, un super bouquin pour Pugmire)

It's so cool to can play Lizards and Birds, and so cool to play pirates ! (c'est génial de pouvoir jouer des lézards et des oiseaux, et encore plus génial de jouer des pirates !)

Now i'm waiting for a book to play rats, mice and badgers ! Maybe somethings like "Rogues of Pugmire" !!! (à présent j'attends un supplément pour jouer rats, souris et blaireaux ! Peut-être quelque chose comme "Voleurs de Pugmire" !!! )

Thanx a lot again for so much fun, it's really a great game ! (Merci beaucoup pour tout ce fun, c'est vraiment un super jeu !)

Djez, French Fan of Pugmire !



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Pirates of Pugmire
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Sunken Bones (An Adventure for Pirates of Pugmire)
by Patrick B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/01/2021 08:38:48

A cool story for a good game, and a really nice little book !

Well job !



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sunken Bones (An Adventure for Pirates of Pugmire)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Deviant: The Renegades
by Zachery N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/29/2021 21:39:02

Deviant: The Renegades is my first experience with the Chronicles of Darkness line. For those unfamilar with the line, the game setting is very much a sand box and the line is new to CoD. I enjoyed the freedom it gave to make a character and working with my ST on the background than having a set lore from previous editions.

Deviants are characters who were once human, but through various means were turned into something else. They have powers, called variations, which can range from the mudane and unnoticeable to the horrific and brutal. Each variation comes with flaw, or scar, that is connected to it's use. The scars run the gamut from physical to mental to social and more. This gives the characters the ability to do almost anything, but at a cost them. You can do the thing, but is doing the thing worth the consequences?

I have had a lot of fun playing the game and would recommend it if you are looking for something new within the Chronicles of Darkness setting or just looking for something new to play in general.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Deviant: The Renegades
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Scion: Vampire
by Eric B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/28/2021 15:12:36

Very interesting idea but, sadly, there's a lot of information missing for it to really be complete. Still worth the price, if your group likes vampires.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Scion: Vampire
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Yugman's Guide to Ghelspad Collected Volume (5e OGL)
by Luco L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/28/2021 09:53:36

Yugman's Guide to Ghelspad is a book all about player options- it presents new races, new subclasses, different secrets societies for the characters to come from or join, new systems such as the Blood Sea Alchemy and much more. For both players and DMs which play in the Scarred Lands setting, this book greatly expands the setting, and even for ones who run their own settings could find some great use from the options presented here. Overall, I highly reccomending peaking it up.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Yugman's Guide to Ghelspad Collected Volume (5e OGL)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Lunars: Fangs at the Gate
by Justin S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/22/2021 22:56:43

The Lunar Exalted have always been in the worst spot compared to the other Exalt types. In 1E, Lunars were safely regarded as the worst written of all the splatbooks, with the initial intention of never being playable only to be written without coherent themes in mind and then pigeonholed into a ravaging barbarian archetype. While 2E Lunars was certainly an improvement, that was certainly a bar that was low enough to trip on. In terms of their presentation they lacked a coherent place in the setting beyond sidekicks to Solars or else nebulous social engineers without any of the mechanics needed to actually bring this about. Their charmset was also awkward, and poorly put together.

3E offers a genuinely coherent vision for Lunars by starting with a simple idea of opposition to the Realm and its successors. They lack the passivity of 2E Lunars, who were unusually tolerant of a government that considers them enemies that must be purged on sight. However, they are not pigeonholed as rampaging destroyers of 1E, either. They have a charm set that's far better equipped towards shaping and building societies, as well as elements of tricksters and manipulators that go into far more depth than prior editions. The Lunar power set is flexible, creative, and thematically evocative. The art in the book is, compared to 3E's core, far more consistent in quality along with some fairly briliant pieces in place, and the setting fluff gives Lunars a far stronger role in a setting.

Even if 3E is not your preference, I do recommend this book to Exalted fans, both to finally give Lunars a coherent place in the setting as well as have examples of powers and abilities that are both effective and interesting. This is a definite improvement compared to poor showings from prior editions, and after the stellar showing that the Dragonblooded also benefitted from I am very eager to see how future splats and archetypes develop.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Lunars: Fangs at the Gate
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 1340 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates