DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Grim & Perilous Book of Monsters - Monsters for Zweihander RPG
by Ari W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/25/2021 11:49:31

This is not only great, but absolutely necessary. Zweihander is an amazing RPG but it's missing a managerie of monsters/NPCs to fight and this book helps build that out. The only problem? There aren't more. Here's to hoping there's more focus on cool monsters/NPCs in the future! Great job!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Grim & Perilous Book of Monsters - Monsters for Zweihander RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Leather, Steel, Blade & Bone - Supplement for Zweihander RPG
by JD S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/02/2021 04:23:54

Awful, clumsy name.

But for $9.99 it is a good value for a pack of interesting optional rules.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Leather, Steel, Blade & Bone - Supplement for Zweihander RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Entreat The Darkness - TTRPG Safety Tool For Zweihander RPG
by John D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/26/2021 19:48:55

As a GM, I tend to throw all kinds of monsters and such at my players - even those with phobias. I look forward to using this tool to give my players a voice in what terrible things cross their own personal boundries and how to handle this in an inclusive way.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Entreat The Darkness - TTRPG Safety Tool For Zweihander RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

ZWEIHÄNDER: Concise Rules Reference - Play Aid for Zweihander RPG
by Anthony D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/25/2021 05:18:39

It is a good attempt at condensing the rulebook, particularly those relevant parts in the GM section. However, it lacks the combat actions and conditions so has minimal value to share with players. A shame.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
ZWEIHÄNDER: Concise Rules Reference - Play Aid for Zweihander RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Doom Within Candlehome
by Lilith G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/13/2021 12:54:04

Perfect adventure for new players who need an introduction to the game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Doom Within Candlehome
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Old Road - Adventure for Zweihander RPG
by Bob V. G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/04/2021 04:47:47

Last week, I soloed my way through The Old Road – Adventure for Zweihander RPG. The RPG system I used was Legend Core from Mongoose ($1 at DriveThruRPG – 242 pages). I used the Solo Adventurer’s Toolbox as the solo engine. – My six characters were escorting a caravan. It was a relaxing start with interesting people to talk to and beautiful scenery to look at. During this time they found rare mushrooms and a plain gold wedding band. But things got serious when the Cult of the Mind’s Eye attacked. My group was able to kill four acolytes and a cultist priest. However, Jon was captured and taken away. The adventuring party took the time to heal each other, and then they started to follow this new trail. They avoided the one trap and found the grotto. Here, they were able to kill four more cultists and their leader. This time a trap was triggered, but the effect was cancelled by a successful saving throw. They cast more healing spells, explored the rest of the grotto, and found a ruby ring with a strange seal. All six characters survived and the quest was completed. - - I need to point out that this Legend rulebook does not include any monsters. So, I took out the “monsters” in the module, replaced them with cultists, and changed the “theme” of the “dungeon”. - -Try out this fun adventure!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Old Road - Adventure for Zweihander RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Six Shooter: Grim & Perilous Adventures in the Old West - Chapbook for Zweihander RPG
by JD S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/03/2021 00:25:13

While Zweihander material is usually high quality, this chapbook is phoned in.

The author(s) research is terrible; for just one glareing example, for a work set in 1876 the book focuses heavily on flintlocks, which had been out of mainstream use for 40+ years, ignores percussion systems entirely, lists several rare or non-existant weapons (the 20-year-old Volcanic arms system, of which only 2000 were made, for example), and then, for the golden era of the fixed-cartridge revolver, gives the player a single generic 'revolver' entry.

The entire period setting material is of like quality: superficial at best, factually wrong at worst. The famous Zweihander focus on historical tone is glaringly absent from this work.

It reads like someone's homebrew conversion notes, and feels like Red Death Redemption was used as the sole research material.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Six Shooter: Grim & Perilous Adventures in the Old West - Chapbook for Zweihander RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Hi JD, I'm sorry to hear that this was your experience with Six Shooter! I do admit in the author's note that I am not a scholar of the American West, and being a role-playing game sourcebook I tended to focus on fun over historicity. That being said, I'd like to address some of your concerns both for your sake and that of other potential purchasers! - The campaign hook is set in 1876, but the work as a whole is meant to cover the "Old West" more broadly. Given that, I chose to put enough focus on flintlocks that groups who prefer an earlier chronological setting wouldn't lose out. From the section on flintlocks: "Flintlock weapons are the most anachronistic firearms in common use. Though still produced and respected, they are quickly being outpaced by more modern designs". - As to rare and non-existent weapons, this is where the fun over historicity point comes in, and I felt that these would be entertaining options for players who want to go outside of a purely historical setting. I will concede that revolvers are not covered in as much depth as a historian might like. I did take a more reductionist approach, simply differentiating by number of chambers in the cylinder, and I will take your comments into consideration if I revisit this period in the future! - In terms of the period setting material, I erred on the side of brevity and stuck to the condensed format of core Zweihander campaign hooks. This is, of course, not enough space for a detailed account of the American Reconstruction period, and while I did my best to highlight key elements, I apologize if the depth you were looking for was not there. I appreciate the feedback and hope your future experiences with Zweihander are more positive.
ZWEIHÄNDER: Concise Rules Reference - Play Aid for Zweihander RPG
by JD S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/31/2021 09:49:27

As advirtised. My only complaint would be that a print-friendly version would be nice.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ZWEIHÄNDER: Concise Rules Reference - Play Aid for Zweihander RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Complete Armory - Play Aid for Zweihander RPG
by JD S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/31/2021 09:38:52

As decribed, same standard of quality as the core book.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Complete Armory - Play Aid for Zweihander RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Entreat The Darkness - TTRPG Safety Tool For Zweihander RPG
by Adam P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/22/2021 13:37:41

Excellent Guidance and Safety Tool.

I used this with my players before a streamed game on the Zweihander Twitch channel it it allowed me to tailor a game in the Grim and Perilous world while safeguarding my players from uncomfortable, disrespectful or trigger situations.

They offered great feedback when using it and knowing their Forsaken was key to providing a fun and engaging game for them at the levels they were happy with.

The Artwork by Amber Seger is fantastic (check out her art on Twitter and Instagram) and adds to the sense of goodwill when dealing with potentially darker material and scenarios.

I would highly recommend this to GMs and those running systems not strictly 'Powered by Zweihander' as many of the tools presented have universal use beyond a singular game system.

Well done team.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Entreat The Darkness - TTRPG Safety Tool For Zweihander RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Argonautica - Supplement for Zweihander RPG
by Jeff S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/20/2020 12:01:36

Some nice ideas in this, I think it's worth the money, but the layout needs some love. Text runs up too close to page borders and viewing it in facing pages mode results in some pages properly faced and others jarringly unfaced.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Argonautica - Supplement for Zweihander RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

LGBT in a Grim and Perilous World - Supplement for Zweihander RPG
by William F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/11/2020 22:53:36

First, this is a book for any Historian/GM/DM/Keeper and while focused on the G&P World. This LGBTQ+ Ally was interested in the item as it's an area that needs more materials to make RPGs even more welcoming to everyone. As a player for 40 years, it's been frustrating to see various efforts to milk toast fantasy and historic fantasy RPGs. Equally frustrating for someone who is an adjunct history teacher, is the continual dismissal of LGBTQ+ in any historical, actual or fantasy, context as "completely unrealistic." Lilith comes out swinging and GOD BLESS THEM for doing so with this retort: "That, apparently, LGBT people started in 1969 when Elton John dropped his first album and before that no one of note in history was every LGBT and no country or region was every supportive of LGBT people." I would insert one of those "100% this" Gifs right here, because apparently RPGs have a demonstrated past of a "Queer-washed" and I will go further washed white, milk-toast concept of history, historic fantasy that like history, and public memory of it, needs to end. History, like life, is more complicated than simple two column boxes, and the gaining industry from miniatures, board games, war gaming, rpgs, and reenacting needs to make this a priority must change. Lilith, thanks for doing this in G&P.

Second, Lilith brings their full game to this essay. This essay is a wit-filled read that I highly recommend. I quoted above the 1969 origin story and that is just a start. With two LGBTQ+ kids, I gotta say this is an essay that strike out RPG and gaming, and you could give this to any group working on inclusion. Plus, it is a damn good read, despite the fact that it was not sent "into the Manager of LGBT affairs for review." That one still has me chuckling after reading it three times btw. As a historian, we constantly come across the "roommates" or "dear/good/life-long friends" as an explanation as to why two non-heterosexual adults spent their lives together. Again, a milk-toasting of history. From the ancient worlds of China, Mesopotamia, Egypt, Nubia, Greece, Rome, Celtia and beyond, the human experience has included LGBTQ individuals This essay reiterates that and honestly the "What does LGBTQ mean?" and "Sexuality is a Spectrum and is Weird" should be assigned reading everywhere. Read it and you will learn something, yes, there are other articles other essays about the same thing - podcasts from Dan Savage to articles in Psychology Today - got it, but read this too.

Third, this is an essay that covers playing the game for the love the game. That if someone is getting so hung up on gender or genitals, then it's probably worth having a discussion about how they can deal with dragons, demons, orcs, or witches and clerics, but not an LGBTQ+ character or NPC. Put another way, DUDE - roll the damn dice or find the door, although I think Lilith did this a lot nicer and with more explanation. But the translation is just that damn simple. If "history" is one hyper heterosexual actors, usually white unless they were great generals, and usually men, then that person is not talking history they are talking a Victorian mythology that needs to be left in the past with cholera. Lilith's nine examples of LGBTQ+ in history, under the title of "How Gay Was History?," helps emphasize that history has been inclusive in that history includes everyone - the people and their stories are there, you just have to look and SEE them. By the way, search social media (Twitter & IG) for historic artwork on many of the nine themes Lilith shared. Hashtags and historians have a tendency to work together - explore them and create some visual context for the well-presented ideas Lilith offered.

Finally, remember that DUDE above, ok, Lilith goes into some frank talk on how to be that DUDE. As a guy, I will say, it's always a DUDE - get over it and don't come at me, cause IT'S ALWAYS A DUDE. That said every Historian/GM/DM/Keeper needs to read, and as I did reread, the "Not Cool Dude" section on the troupes to avoid with succinct explanations of why they are part of the continuing problem - you will instantly recognize a group of them have been used and misused by Hollywood from Will & Grace to sadly to say an episode of Lovecraft Country. But, it's worth the read and the read followed by a good deal of thought and contemplation on the entire essay. Doing so will be a great start and part of the effort to make the gaming table, if not the larger place you live in, a bit more open so that everyone can be part of the fun of tossing dice and playing out the character they want to be.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
LGBT in a Grim and Perilous World - Supplement for Zweihander RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Ancient Magick - Supplement for Zweihander RPG
by Jack D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/26/2020 07:39:33

Great magical sourcebook for ZWEIHÄNDER RPG. Expansion features huge amount of good information to expand magick on your ZWEIHÄNDER games. New interesting magical professions, new magical lore (Cabal and it's Paths), magical combat rules and then new spells (and Rituals). Professional work!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ancient Magick - Supplement for Zweihander RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Concordance of Freedom [BUNDLE]
by Th R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/27/2020 06:08:17

This is fantastic campaign, making full use of the ZH rules and the premises of the system: corruption, shades of grey, but also idealism and the achievement of small victories. The only blemish is that the bundle could come with player and GM primers to supply background on the factions, principalities and NPCs. Info is scattered about the various documents, but it takes a bit of work to piece it together: primers would go a good way to helping with that.

Still, highly recommended!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Concordance of Freedom [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Black Road - Campaign for Zweihander RPG
by Louis J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/21/2020 07:19:44

A great and fun setting for your Zweihander adventures. Well worth the money.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Black Road - Campaign for Zweihander RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 68 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates