DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories















Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
The Dare
by Colm M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/03/2021 11:27:22

A fun and creepy scenario marred by some very poor editing and maps. It really requires a lot of prep on the Keeper's part to run this due to the inconsistencies in the text and maps. But I still recommend it. It has some memorable scenes, a great setting, and is a guaranteed winner for a Halloween game. It deserves a second edition with some heavy revisions though.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Dare
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Dare
by Scott P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/28/2021 08:56:45

This adventure really struck a chord with me, because I'm about the same age these kids are (assuming one runs it in the '80s) and this is the kind of stuff we would have done. It really hits on all cylinders. I haven't run it yet, but I'm planning on running it as a one-shot on Halloween.

Spoilers ahead!

That said, there are a number of problems with this adventure as written. There are a lot of editing errors in it, including one where a page reference was left as "refer to page xx." Also, the room descriptions are kind of inconsistent. The description of the second floor of the house jumps to the attic, then back again, because there (supposedly) is an entrance to the attic in one of the bedrooms. I say "supposedly" because, at least according to the map, there isn't an entrance to the attic there. Really not a big deal, but it makes it confusing.

Also, the map lists a first-floor room as the Family Room, whereas the text refers to it as the Living Room. In the sub-basement room, the area letters on the map don't correspond at all to the text, and the text descriptions are a little vague, which makes it difficult to ascertain what area they're referring to.

Two other issues of note: One, the "Fighting Evelyn" section is separate from the "Battle Against Evelyn" section. These should be combined. Two, on page 19 there's a reference to a book called "Witchcraft and Black Magic," and a loose page from it, then on page 23 there's a reference to Evelyn's grimoire, and a page from it that is a handout. I found this kind of confusing, and wasn't sure whether the page 19 book had the handout, or the grimoire. It seems obvious now, but it was really confusing. Clarifying that would be good, or making handouts for everything on page 19.

One other thing: There's a bathroom described on page 14 as being off a landing partway between the floors. Unless they're using non-Euclidean geometry, I don't see how that's possible, especially because it doesn't show on the map.

These may seems nitpicky, but they made it really confusing for me as I prepare to run it. It's still a great adventure, and I hope they re-edit it and publish a new edition.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Arkham Gazette #0
by CD F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/30/2021 16:24:23

This product gives great footnotes to past Cthulhu printings while giving you great new source material! Something all fans of the game and its history would enjoy.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Arkham Gazette #0
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Miskatonic Country Scenarios: A Keeper's Guide
by CD F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/11/2021 22:02:46

A great issue which gives an overview of the fictional landscape around Miscatoic University, the rural, horrifying and mythos laden Miskatonic County. Players and Keepers alike would benefit from this guide of old scenarios and how it can help you in your present campaigns!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Miskatonic Country Scenarios: A Keeper's Guide
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Arkham Gazette #2
by Alex B. /. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/14/2021 07:18:19

See my review for issue#0, as awesome as all issues of this gazette!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Arkham Gazette #2
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Arkham Gazette #1
by Alex B. /. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/14/2021 07:18:08

See my review for issue#0, as awesome as all issues of this gazette!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Arkham Gazette #1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Arkham Gazette #3
by Alex B. /. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/14/2021 07:17:02

See my review for issue#0, as awesome as all issues of this gazette!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Arkham Gazette #3
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Arkham Gazette #0
by Alex B. /. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/14/2021 07:11:06

Having purchased all the Gazette issues, I can say they are all great and absolutely incredible references for any Keeper interested in gaming in the Miskatonic Valley. I'm amazed by the expertise the authors are demonstrating with their writings. All the article are great and the scenarios are very interesting. Highly recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Arkham Gazette #0
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Arkham Gazette #1
by Edward P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/31/2021 13:31:29

This is a must have book for any Call of Cthulhu junkie. Take a journey through Lovecraft Country. You'll be glad you did.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Arkham Gazette #1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Miskatonic Country Scenarios: A Keeper's Guide
by Alonso A. (. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/23/2021 14:52:09

Given the compatibility between editions and the rich history of the game, Call of Cthulhu Keepers really have an embarrasment of riches in terms of options and avenues to explore. So mucho so that at times it might even feel overwhelming, considering we're talking about 40 years of published material. Sentinel Hill Press' Miskatonic Country Scenarios: A Keeper's Guide is a godsend that makes life easier for anyone planning to run a game in the creepy locations penned by H.P. Lovecraft himself, by far the game's central setting, or at least it's most popular. This is a comprehensive guide that not only helps Keepers track down scenarios and supplements by providing concise summaries, but also gives them a grasp of Call of Cthulhu's rich history with its introductory essay, bibliography, recommended supplements and reading list. A must buy for most Keepers, and also a valuable asset to anyone interested in the evolution of Call of Cthulhu and Lovecraft-inspired gaming.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Miskatonic Country Scenarios: A Keeper's Guide
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Dare
by Casey K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/20/2020 17:58:10

Beyond the nostalgia for the 80s this (pleasantly) stirs up, this scenario is an all around winner. It is perfect for a one night, one shot game (or convention play), it is perfect as an intro to Call of Cthulhu for newbies, and it is a perfect representation of the kind of creepiness (and gross out horror, if you play it a certain way!) that can come from a good Call of Cthulhu game. My only regret is that I didn't play as a player before reading it! This is on my short list of games to run once convention season picks back up.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Dare
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Dare
by Michael M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/13/2020 09:08:51

Ran this 3 times. Around 3-4 hours. It was super fun! Perfect for a Halloween one-shot. Also maybe a cool concept as a prequel to a later adventure of adults. I ran Unland from Fears Sharp Needles and had the characters be grown ups from this campaign. It was smashing. Absolutely buy and run this!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Dare
by Edward P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/07/2020 12:29:47

I LOVE this scenario. its great for a night if scary fun. I had the pleasure of running an earlier version on Halloween a few years back and had an awesome time. I'm super happy to finally be holding the physical cooy in my hands. Recommended!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Dare
by Rich O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/25/2020 08:00:52

First off, this is both well thought out and scary. The 'kid friendly' (ha) rules are right on the money. Simplified skills and mechanisms for playing 11 year olds. It really lets you get into the theme and the story. Premade characters are great and let you get right into it.

I had couple of minor quibles and I only post them here incase the designer decides to ever do an update. The graphic design of the module is inconsistent. Everything outside and the ground floor is clearly marked. Rooms have big text saying what it is. But when you go downstairs, it's all just kind of mashed together. That made it had to move around. Also, the maps were placed in the middle of the room descriptions, which again made it hard to find stuff.

Without spoilers - some of the combat info is confusing. Damage of 1d3-2 seems like a weird formula. One creature has a dodge of 45 in one part of the text and 85 in another. The kid rules of 'you both roll an attack, and whoever has a better success does damage' is good, but there is challenge that doesn't seem to have a physical attack, so you kind of have to wing it.

The maps are fine, but they are just a floor plan. It would be great to have actual maps (with furniture) on them.

I would buy this again on Roll20 if it were setup with tokens and maps and whatnot.

Keep in mind, it's a secure PDF, so exporting the character sheets isn't really an option - I'd recomend posting them and the kid rules seperatly for folks that buy the module.

All that said, this thing was spooky and fun. My guys had a blast and are begging for more.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Arkham Gazette #3
by Geoff G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/28/2019 11:29:35

Another solid issue of Arkham Gazette, this time featuring witches and witchcraft. The editor and authors take pains to explore the subject respectfully (the article on witch trials was thorough), while tipping the hat to portrayals in popular culture (which help fuel public interest), and tying it in to the Cthulhu Mythos and the Call of Cthulhu game, which is why we read AG in the first place. :)

The first four articles (all are highlighted below) are key in my view, and really should be read together. Articles that especially stood out to me include the following:

  • "New England's Witch Trials": A solid overview of what persecutions were carried out in which colony, by whom, and what the results were. No one in New England was actually burnt at the stake.

  • "Witchcraft in Lovecraft Country": What sorts of witch covens are active in the setting, and where. Plus, there is information about witchcraft locations.

  • "Building a Better Witch": Creating a more realistic NPC witch (white, grey, black, or Mythos) for your players to encounter, plus some new spells and ideas for a witch's grimoire. The notes at the end on how to use a witch in play (they aren't always adversaries) are very useful.

  • "Gods of the Witches": How witches in Call of Cthulhu might relate to specific Great Old Ones and their minions. Very thorough, and useful for setting up a cult for the game.

  • "Witch's Hollow": A nice writeup of a spooky location featured in a story by August Derleth. Introduces a new monster.

  • "The Queen of Night": A full adventure scenario involving the machinations of a young woman descended from an evil witch named Ann Whitlock, who is trying to build her own coven - one bloody sacrifice at a time. It's an open-ended, deadly investigation that requires the players to be imaginative...and to be prepared to suffer a nasty fate. Well structured and paced, this is not an introductory adventure.


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Arkham Gazette #3
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 24 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates