DriveThruRPG.com
Narrow Results













Back
B1 In Search of the Unknown (Basic)
 
$4.99
Average Rating:4.2 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
60 15
24 15
14 3
3 1
2 4
B1 In Search of the Unknown (Basic)
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
B1 In Search of the Unknown (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jeremy C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/01/2020 11:11:39

This adventure requires a lot of prep work. Its literally up to the GM to basically populate the dungeon. However, they give you a good premise to start from, which I enjoy. So if you need a place to start and need a pre-made dungeon but YOU want to fill in the details... then this is perfect for you!



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
B1 In Search of the Unknown (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Aaron S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/31/2020 08:33:29

Very nice for this aadventure to be available at a less-than-ridiculous price. BUT the scan and print quality are horrendous. I bought a printed copy because it is usually more pleasant to read. Unfortunately, the poor quality makes this strenuous to be .



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
B1 In Search of the Unknown (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Kyle M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/23/2020 12:56:16

Okay so first of all: the old optional brown cover PDF which has been removed is a vastly superior scan in addition to more professional editing layout changes, though I respect that the original mono color version should be preserved as an option. If I was given a choice for the POD, I would have chosen the brown cover, but regardless the mono cover desrves a better treatment than this.

The entire scan is too light, like nobody properly adjusted the gamma so black is printed is black. This is apparent in the dark parts of iamges, but also makes the text soft and fairly difficult to read on some pages (it varies page to page, but never reaches the true black of many other POD's I've received). There's a pencil mark on page 19 and page crinkles/borders at the end that should have been caught and cloned out during QC, in addition to the gamma issues. Then there's the maps. It's quite obvious the scanned copies here were in a sorry state and some effort has been made to crop around as much of it as possible, but yeesh... first of all someone's pen X's have been drawn into the version scanned and weren't bothered to be cloned out, but it all just looks so grimey and low contrast. It's frequently hard to make out what's in a room or even what the numbers are. In addition to the sloppy attempts to cover up the poor condition leaving us with big splotches of artifacts around the legend. Surely there's a copy of this accessible out there to WotC that is in better shape, or take the scan of the brown covered version and photoshop the roman numerals onto it. Or recreate the asset. This just isn't an acceptable copy of the map and is often illegible. I found a mono-cover copy on eBay for $40 with a great condition map, it's really not that rare of an asset to excuse presenting this way.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
B1 In Search of the Unknown (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Nicolas L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/03/2020 12:01:11

The quality of the reprint is great, quite durable, and the clarity of the images, are more than I could have hoped for. I’m very pleased with the reproduction, only wish that other classic mods/classic booklets were also available in soft cover print, and not just as a PDF.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
B1 In Search of the Unknown (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 01/21/2020 16:20:14

In Search of the Unknown was not the first adventure ever created, it was not even the first TSR adventure ever created. It was though one of the very first adventures I ever encountered and one of the first I ever ran.

The adventure is a great case of both teaching tool for learning DMs (we were all new to this once) and DIY Dungeon. Some areas are detailed, but many are not, leaving room for the neophyte DM to record what monsters and treasure were in each room. There are also a plethora of cliche spawning Dungeon tropes, that were just getting started here. Magic mouths, one-way secret doors, a mysterious creator of the dungeon, or in this case, two, and strange magical artifacts.

This adventure was the perfect learning tool for me at the time since my own version of D&D was a mix of Holmes Basic and the AD&D Monster Manual. This "Basic" introductory module was released before the Basic game, but it moves elegantly between Basic and Advanced that begs you to mix and match your rules systems. Author Mike Carr even gives some guidelines on how to use this adventure with AD&D.

The module is pretty typical for the time. 32 pages of b/w art and text. Detached cover with blue maps printed on the inside of the cover. The first 6 pages are dedicated to running the adventure and how to run this one in particular.

I have used this adventure to start every new campaign I have ever run in D&D, regardless of the edition. The dungeon crawl here is so primal that it calls out to you. A true In Search of the Unknown indeed. The one thing I never did, however, was to investigate more about who Rogahn and Zelligar were and why they left their lair of Castle Quasquenton.

One thing that B1 did give me, in a roundabout way, was my very first witch NPC Marissia. She is in the lower parts of Quasquenton and she is attempting to summon the spirit of her master Zelligar and her father Rogahn.

The adventure has stood the test of time and it is a great combination of flexible dungeon design. Nearly anything can be put into this adventure to raise or lower the difficulty as needed.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
B1 In Search of the Unknown (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by jamey h. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/24/2019 00:10:08

got the softcover version. For 10$cad u can't complain at all! I sure wish I could get the rest of the 'B' series in softcovers



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
B1 In Search of the Unknown (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Corey R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/07/2018 04:35:57

One of the first adventures ever printed for D&D and did not age well. Not much of a story and basically just an empty map to stock with creatures. Unless you want some deep nostagia or just want to complete a collection, skip it.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
B1 In Search of the Unknown (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Michael S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/22/2018 12:10:54

This re-print is of inferior quality. I would not recommend purchasing the print edition as it is hard to read because of the poor quality of the original scan. Better off finding an original copy on eBay.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
B1 In Search of the Unknown (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/29/2018 00:11:49

I am not certain why another person gave this a bad rating, stating that this was the worst 'ever'. The quality is suprisingly great! The B&W pictures are crisp and all the text in the book is fully OCR'd. The PDF has a sidebar with linked sections & TOC - its not a cheap scan of the original. The maps are clear and readable and it prints out very nicely for addition into your DM binder. They did a great job of digitizing an old classic!

The monster stat blocks are what you should expect, and used to with early D&D adventures. Short, conscise and easy to read. It makes converting to other editions very simple. Well worth the money for any grognards looking to preserve great memories, or for anyone else interested in some great D&D nostalgia.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
B1 In Search of the Unknown (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/07/2017 07:48:57

This is the worst PDF scan quality I have EVER encountered on the site. I'm shocked that a company like Wizards would charge for something like this. I doubt I will buy any of their virtual items again for fear of encountering this. Buyer beware!



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
B1 In Search of the Unknown (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Dominic L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/14/2014 15:55:02

I downloaded this free on joining the DnD Classics website. I remember playing this with my friend Andrew in 81 or so. Its a good introductory adventure, but many of the rooms in the two levels of the dungeon are not filled. There is a list of monsters and treasure- and the DM is supposed to place them as he sees fit. Worth getting for completeness but later dungeons in the B series are much better. Thanks.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
B1 In Search of the Unknown (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jonathan P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/26/2013 17:47:16

You know... I first played this back when I was a very young man. I later adapted it to work with AD&D 2nd Ed when I was DMing one of those campaigns... It worked well then, and it works well now! I recently adapted things AGAIN and made this work with my Son and some of his friends who are just starting out in the world of RPGs... They enjoyed themselves as much as I did back in my youth.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
B1 In Search of the Unknown (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by David S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/04/2013 12:29:55

Ran as an intro 3.5 not much had to be added. Just some save DCs ect... Took me three week days to read and prep but still not much time each day.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
B1 In Search of the Unknown (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Lucas C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/08/2013 11:20:55

I ported to 4E quickly and easily. It was no problem putting some basic monsters in the mod and then running it mostly on the fly. I loved the level of detail and exploration - my PCs had so much fun with the room of pools. It was a breath of fresh air compared to the 4E mods I have ran.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
B1 In Search of the Unknown (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Rob M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/26/2013 08:01:36

As the first module for Basic D&D, Search of the Unknown has a history that makes it very appealing to a DM. If you're looking for a very old-school dungeon, this is it.

As an artifact of its time, B1 is an excellent read for any DM looking to become more literate on "how things used to be." The front matter contains helpful advice on running old-school games they way they were intended to be played.

As a dungeon, there are many cool and interesting locations in B1. However, there is also an awful lot of empty space and boring rooms with the simple purpose of housing a random monster. Why the monsters would be in these empty rooms is beyond me.

When I ran B1, I had to do it after some heavy modification. Essentially, I removed any location that didn't have something interesting or fun. While this resulted in a dungeon about half the size, it did provide an adventure that was packed with great high-fantasy magic and fun.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 38 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates