DriveThruRPG.com
Please choose which option you would like to add to your cart.
Narrow Results













Back
D&D Rules Cyclopedia (Basic)
 
$9.99
Average Rating:4.6 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
183 61
28 22
7 9
4 5
0 4
D&D Rules Cyclopedia (Basic)
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
D&D Rules Cyclopedia (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Joni F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/15/2021 15:35:31

Very good quality! Wasn't expecting POD book to be this good. I am impressed.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Rules Cyclopedia (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jerry A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/26/2021 14:35:43

I bought the hardcover color copy, and I have to say I'm impressed. It's pretty much everything you'll need to run OSR BECMI games; it even contains its own campaign setting. I play 3.5e mostly with the occasional 2e game; this is for quickly put together games that I can run with minimal effort and on the fly. The best part is that I can convert characters to 2e thanks to information in this book, making it a great tool to teach prospective players before fully introducing them to 2e. My only complaint with this book is that the scan is a little blurry, but not unreadable. There's also a white border around the pages and it looks like there are thumbprints on some of the pages, but again I think these are from the original copy. Otherwise, I'd recommend it if you're interested in OSR or getting people into 2nd edition AD&D.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Rules Cyclopedia (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Zoltan N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/21/2021 10:56:16

Received the hardcover book in roughly 1.5 weeks after order. This was my first order of a hardcover POD from DrivethruRPG, and i wasn't sure what i would receive. But i inspected every single page as well as the covers for any defects or damages, however it's in mint condition! I'm very pleased with this POD. I had heard that the scan would be fuzzy and hard to read, but i don't see this at all, it looks to be a very good scan! Thanks DTRPG! :)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Rules Cyclopedia (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Tim S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/17/2021 11:16:12

Excellent!Excellent!Excellent! PDF Rule Book System from the good ole' days!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Rules Cyclopedia (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Buddy R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/11/2021 23:00:00

15 days and still not recieved. I drive an 18 wheeler, and contract a lot of USPS loads, and even with the slowest media mail shipping, nothing should take 18 days to go halfway across the country. And I've been told I have to wait at least 45 days before it is declared a loss, and I bet even then, I get to pay more shipping.

Update....22 days for this to arrive. Book arrived in great condition and seems to be pretty solid. I've found nothing blurry like others have reported, and am enjoying reading this.

Would be 5 stars if not for the extreme shipping time. They could not provide a tracking number, but yet when the item arrived, there was a clear tracking number on the package, so I am sure they had one on their USPS reciept. But all is well now.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Rules Cyclopedia (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Edward C. O. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/10/2021 12:37:26

i will be speaking on the hardcover POD of the book.

the book is really good, the paper isn't premium but that's not a deal breaker, and the printing is solid. the only way i know its a scan is the world maps, and even then, the maps are pretty clear to read. that said, if you need a print of the maps, you can get the pdf as the scan is great quality.

as for the game itself, the love for Basic D&D is real here! i love the information, the lore, and the passion bleeds in the text! and the expanse lore is soooo in depth that it gives you the list of books of each reigon and it is really well in depth.

this book also has the Adnd conversion section, so if you want to add this to your Adnd games, it explains how to do it.

overall, i love the book, and i definitely recommend this POD hardcover.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Rules Cyclopedia (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/29/2021 16:57:54

I do not think there is a better resource for the original D&D than this book. That is all I think I need to say about the content. My book was printed in the UK and whilst there are no defects, it does not look very sharp. The cover image does not take the entire cover of the book and that takes away some of the impact for me. Perhaps I was very impressed when little with the original one and the real thing does not live to the memory! The binding is fine but not of the same quality as other books of similar size that I own. I always have the impression that it will not take much use before it starts breaking apart but so far it has done well so no complains despite of the initial impresion. It is printed form a scanned file and it shows. Some people do not mind and others hate it. You do not notice it in many pages but you will definitely in some. I am happy with the book but if you are looking for a top quality volume, the priting and binding might disappoint you. Bear in mind that if yours is printed somewhere else, the result might be different, at least in relation to the binding. I recommend it but just be aware of some quirks.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Rules Cyclopedia (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by William L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/11/2021 18:41:37

Yep, definetly worth the wait! Excellent qualtiy and binding, should last a life time.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Rules Cyclopedia (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Gregory F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/06/2021 20:02:40

Took a month to get it, but it was worth the wait. My copy is gorgeous.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Rules Cyclopedia (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Sam C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/29/2020 18:32:37

Some text/pages have tiny artifacting around them, (text seems to have tiny black dots around the letters) but overall it's a good, readable high quality product. It's not flawless but I consider it money well spent :)



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Rules Cyclopedia (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by JASON S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/17/2020 11:11:17

The book is beautiful and a little taller than the original. I never owned my own copy but I got to borrrow one for 3 yrs. We never played the system but I read the thing cover to cover.I remeber the book being white while this copy is creme, no big deal. My copy came with smudge printing on pages 5 and 9 but still readable and does not ruin the book. All in all I now have my own copy and am now a supporter of the Drive Thru and Guild! Thank you!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Rules Cyclopedia (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Damian D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/25/2020 21:01:34

I was amazed when I discovered that these products from my beginning days of D&D was available. Price was great and the scan quality was excellent. Will have to figure when I'll put this to use playing old school and getting to level 36



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Rules Cyclopedia (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Luke A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/06/2020 16:34:38

The scan is fine, text/ink is good and the content is a nice walk down memory lane.

I received the hardcover - and it is POORLY done, sloppy. The corners are messy and i'm concerned they'll come apart, the covers are oversized with an overhang that is double or triple the size of normal.

I have purchased 3 hardcovers from DriveThru and all of them were disappointments. Poorly done. One of them split the day I received it.

I would recommend avoiding hardcovers from DriveThru at this time, get the softcover and save yourself some money and disappointment.

Full marks for the content. The printing is fine the binding is a complete disappointment.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Rules Cyclopedia (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Epik S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/29/2020 19:34:10

This review is based on the print-on-demand. With the exception of the copy I got had a half-dozen indented scratches on the back cover and several extra blank pages at the end of the rulebook, The hard cover is solid, no printing errors to be found and no badly misprinted pages.

F.Y.I.: If you think this an all-in-one book that can be used for Advanced 2nd edition D&D, save yourself extensive page searching and novel-long extra notes, just get the Revised 2nd AD&D core rule books on this site (which are also print-on-demand). This rulebook covers 1st edition D&D in it's entirity, which inclues a monster section (chapter 14, page 251). Yes, it does have an appendix section covering 1st to 2nd D&D rule conversions on page 291 but it mostly serves to transition PC characters from D&D 1e to AD&D 2e (regardless on what the back cover advertises).



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Rules Cyclopedia (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Stephen C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/21/2020 15:08:07

If you can only buy 1 RPG book ever, get this one, because it literally covers EVERYTHING you need in an RPG. Even though I play 5e now, I still use this for systems reference, especially when it comes to domain creation and management and mass battle systems.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 101 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates