DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
DDIA05 Storm King's Thunder: A Great Upheaveal (5e) $0.00
Average Rating:4.5 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
122 19
44 20
18 4
5 1
0 0
DDIA05 Storm King\'s Thunder: A Great Upheaveal (5e)
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
DDIA05 Storm King's Thunder: A Great Upheaveal (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Damien N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/21/2021 11:34:04

I ran this for a group of 10-11 year olds a couple of months back as their intro adventure and it worked well. The plot was easy to follow and was just "fantasy enough" for a group of kids familiar with Harry Potter but not DnD to start to understand the world and the mechanics. Starting with goblins and wargs and moving into some more complex monsters and NPC's was great. If I ever have to run an adventure for new kids again, this will be my go-to. Perfect for new young players.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDIA05 Storm King's Thunder: A Great Upheaveal (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by seth p. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/03/2019 20:53:43

Easy to run, and it can be a good intro to new players, although Defiance in Phlan is slightly better for that purpose. The real beauty in this is the intro to the setting.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDIA05 Storm King's Thunder: A Great Upheaveal (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Erik T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/17/2019 13:47:42

A versatile adventure that contains plenty of roleplaying and combat. The fights can be a little hard for low-level characters, especially a certain spear-throwing enemy that one-shotted the Wizard from full health to negative maximum HP, instantly killing him.

I don't know if this adventure still "works" now that AL no longer allows Milestone leveling. If you still want the party to be level five at the end of this module you might want to take it slow.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDIA05 Storm King's Thunder: A Great Upheaveal (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Toby L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/23/2019 06:11:14

Lots of content and interesting story. Felt like we could of had more decription but pleased.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDIA05 Storm King's Thunder: A Great Upheaveal (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Connor S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/10/2019 20:19:04

Not a bad mod to run for a new dm. Characters level a little fast and it does not reward players well



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDIA05 Storm King's Thunder: A Great Upheaveal (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Paweł M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/14/2019 16:10:06

The adventure is a great alternative to those small modules that consume 2 hours each, and are usually played in a changing party throughout a few weeks. It gives a good understanding of what is going on in the realm, and introduces the players to the whole campaign.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDIA05 Storm King's Thunder: A Great Upheaveal (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Damion M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/17/2018 20:55:22

Really well developed starting adventure full of vividly described NPCs



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDIA05 Storm King's Thunder: A Great Upheaveal (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Joshua L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/01/2018 16:04:31

The story is decent, and it's a good intro to Storm King's Thunder. However, my somewhat-inexperienced table found it hard to care for the city of Nightstone, and they were quite frustrated at levelling from 1 to 5 without seeing a single permanent magic item, and scant few consumables.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDIA05 Storm King's Thunder: A Great Upheaveal (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Marilyn S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/28/2018 11:27:35

My players love it! I just joined the Adventurer's League at my local comic book shop. It was my first time DM'ing publically, and everyone really really loved it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDIA05 Storm King's Thunder: A Great Upheaveal (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/30/2018 13:21:14

I've run this a couple times now, and it provides a huge variety of options for different play styles and solutions. For players who want to leave "no stone un-turned" the first part can get a bit tedious, while at the same time, those who fare poorly in the first encounters may find that events canpile up too quickly and overwhelm. DM needs to be judicious in how they deal damage for low level characters. The storypoint experience award system works well here.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDIA05 Storm King's Thunder: A Great Upheaveal (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by halden N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/14/2018 16:59:43

A little light on RP, But great to introduce both new players and the gaints.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDIA05 Storm King's Thunder: A Great Upheaveal (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jordan B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/10/2018 16:39:13

This series of adventures (which consists of Chapter 1 from the hardcover Storm King's Thunder) is an excellent way to get your party acquainted with the giants of Season 5. It's one of the few modules to allow milestone XP, so for that reason alone it shines brightly as a way to quickly get characters to an appropriate level.

It would be a chore, however, if the adventures were poor. Luckily, they are excellently written and allow for the variety of experiences. Roll-players and role-players will be equally at home, as there are ample oppprtunities for both.

For anyone wanting to run the SKT hardcover or the Season 5 adventures, I really can't recommend it enough.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDIA05 Storm King's Thunder: A Great Upheaveal (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Aaron P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/02/2018 04:28:09

This is a great season intro omodule and due to the milestone system used it is great for preparing the characters for the difficult journey ahead of them in the rest of the campaign. It's a bit light on roleplaying oppertunities but otherwise a fun adventure.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDIA05 Storm King's Thunder: A Great Upheaveal (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by James G. J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/29/2018 08:23:30

This was a well crafted starter adventure. I ran it with friends who were experienced gamers, but we had decided to start with new first level characters. It was a nice progression to move them up a few levels and out into the world to seek their fame and glory. I thought the challenges were well balance, and there was plenty of room for role playing as well as battle. Some good thinking as well for my group. They were able to puzzle out some things to avoid combat as well. They all thought it was a well rounded adventure. I am also going to hold onto it to introduce my kids to gaming now that they are old enough to be able to understand how to play D&D, the next generation arises!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDIA05 Storm King's Thunder: A Great Upheaveal (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Tyler D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/17/2018 23:20:27

Has a lot of smaller missions that work well in getting the party used to their characters. A little hard for newcomers considering the either large amount of enemies, or the higher CR of them (SPOILERS: Black Pudding anyone???) I like the tradition of getting the party advanced in levels before the 'main' campaign begins.

LOVE the fact that every goblin NPC is named. My party enjoys giving them backstories if they live, often inviting them into the party (with high Charisma checks of course).



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 44 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates