DriveThruRPG.com
Narrow Results













Back
Star Trek Adventures Quickstart $0.00
Average Rating:4.3 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
46 4
22 4
9 2
1 1
1 2
Star Trek Adventures Quickstart
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
Star Trek Adventures Quickstart
Publisher: Modiphius
by Bob V. G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/27/2021 15:13:30

Recently I soloed my way through Star Trek Adventures Quickstart (for several players and one game master). I did use the six characters that are in this module. To solo this I used The Mythic Game Master Emulator. So, the adventure started with the shuttle trip to the planet and then ambush #1. Soon after this the characters found the two federation combadges they were looking for. The next thing that they found was a crashed Romulan shuttle. Inside it, they were surprised to find a traumatized dog in a cage (Fluffy looked like a mastiff, but with more hair). T’Prel, the female half-Vulcan, calmed the dog down and rescued it from the shuttle. It followed her everywhere after that. Ambush #2 allowed diplomacy (Yay! It worked). They were led to the source of the mysterious alien signal and they were able to figure out the process on how to disable it. They were rudely interrupted by a group of Romulans. The Romulans were subdued and tied up. So, now they attempted the signal shut down. Strange things started to happen and the first officer demanded a translation of these new developments/signals. The translation was “self destruct sequence engaged”. They ran for their lives. There was no time to free the tied up Romulans. At a four-way intersection, the terrified dog ran the wrong way. T’Prel ran after it. The explosion happened and most of the mining complex was destroyed along with T’Prel and Fluffy. The settlers and miners were outraged. The first officer promised food and supplies. The characters escaped from the planet and later they did deliver the supplies. This was followed by T’Prel’s funeral and the first officer was written up for the mission failure. Maybe you will have better luck. - - This fun 31 page module is free on DriveThruRPG. It contains 16 pages of rules for the 2d20 system, 6 PC characters, 7 pages for the adventure, 4 stat blocks for enemies, and 1 map. Give this exciting adventure a try! – The attached image is of a place where they were getting some rest and relaxation (at the end of the episode).



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Star Trek Adventures Quickstart
Publisher: Modiphius
by Iv R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/18/2020 12:11:28

I really liked Star Trek Adventures but it's a bit heavy for my own taste. I love Star Trek and I can see myself running a campaign with the system, I just think I need to get a lot of familiarity with it before commiting to buying the whole game



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Star Trek Adventures Quickstart
Publisher: Modiphius
by Laszlo S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/28/2020 03:13:46

I already had bad experience with 2d20 (it's one of the worst systems I've played) but as I'm a huge Star Trek fan, I thought I’ll check this out and maybe I'll like it. Wow, was I wrong. It's even worse than I feared.

  • What's with all this black? My eyes fall out by reading it. Even if there was an option to turn off the background (there is none) it would be too much white. I wouldn't buy a printed book with all black or all white background, so this one is already a no-go for me.
  • The system is still as bad as I remember from another 2d20 game, I won't get into details, I really don't like it. If the other aspects were great, I might overlook it, but they aren't.
  • The adventure is really bad. Yes, this is a free product, but I have no idea how a Star Trek adventure should look like. After reading this I get the impression that they are bad / useless, and I shouldn't bother. /> - So, the adventure. What ship are you on? How did you get there? What happened on the way there? Why didn't you scan the planet before beaming down?
  • You open your tricorders after beaming down and you should see the Romulans. They should appear as two life signs a couple of meters away. Why isn't that so?
  • There is this part where you can spend momentum (one of those irritating 2d20 resources that all the systems seem to have) to get information. This makes no sense. Why would you get this info by spending some strange resources? Who tells you this? Why not use your skills to figure this out? Is the adventure this badly written, or is the system supposed to work like this? I don't know which one is worse.
  • What about those colonists? Who are they, how did they get there and what are they doing there?

If all the adventures are this bad, I am not interested in this game and it's a waste of time to even read them. If they are better, why are you putting this bad product out there to scare people away?



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Star Trek Adventures Quickstart
Publisher: Modiphius
by Eric P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/05/2020 18:03:09
  1. I may be missing the healing rules or they simply are not part of the Quickstart, which confuses me if the latter is the case.
  2. The adventure presented is rather combat heavy. It doesn't feel as much like Star Trek. I guess it would be a good introduction for people who play more combat heavy games but after seeing adventures that are true to Star Trek (e.g. The Living Campaign) I would not recommend the adventure that comes with the Quickstart.

Please understand that this is a review purely of the Quickstart and not the full product.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Star Trek Adventures Quickstart
Publisher: Modiphius
by Greg B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/09/2019 08:56:58

This is a great purchase if you are thinking of dipping your toes into the world of Star Trek Adventures. A rule book giving a rundown on all the basics you need to know, a brilliant multi part adventure for your pregenerated crew to boldly investigate.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Star Trek Adventures Quickstart
Publisher: Modiphius
by John S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/03/2019 10:14:12

If you love Star Trek, you will love Star Trek Adventures. 6 attributes and 6 disciplines (fields of expertise) with each attribute being able to be combined with each discipline for a variety of tasks. It plays well into the narrative, storyed themes of Star Trek wonderfully. Signals does a great job of allowing players and GMs alike to get a good feel for the system while being true to the setting and tone of Star Trek.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Star Trek Adventures Quickstart
Publisher: Modiphius
by Tim N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/29/2018 08:14:51

Though this is a good introduction to the game I was a little disappointed by the adventure provided. It leans heavily on Combat examples and does not cue the GM or players to try non-combat approaches. Star Fleet officers are expected to solve problems peacefully where it is even slightly possible. The scenario provides a puzzle, but does not give the players a chance of solving it or discovering something interesting. It also has a choke point in the scenario where the players may very well be disarmed and then presents them with a challenging combat situation which they cannot avoid or prepare for. The explanations are good but the starter adventure included in the Core Rules is a better Star Trek scenario by a long shot.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Star Trek Adventures Quickstart
Publisher: Modiphius
by Rion S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/11/2018 18:47:19

A good intro to the game, helps explain some of the newer gaming concepts well. If you are considering buying in, check this one out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Star Trek Adventures Quickstart
Publisher: Modiphius
by Goran E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/25/2018 09:43:09

I really love the Star Trek universe because it's not a space opera with just battles and chases. It has quite an adult behavior and the hero has (according to me) always be the crew and the ship, not this or that character.

That said, I have three problems with this demo. Two are comsmetic ones:

first, what's all about these colors? Was that necessary to print all on black background? Is there a deal with ink sellers? Where are the coupons then? second, the colors themselves. Less fluo and more pastel would have been better for, well, everysingle color. It's not Star Trek it's Tokyo Nights on acid.

Third, the 2d20 system itself. And it is not cosmetic...

1 - In the end 2d20 is trying to mix the advantages of "multiple successes systems" where each die scores a success or not with the distinct advantages of "chances of success systems" where you have a basic chance to succeed or not. nice idea.

2 - You end up spending chips to add additionnal d20 with a maximum of 5d20 to roll (FIVE OL'TWENTIES MAN!!!). that's for the MSS.

3 - And that for each you have to check a success (found by adding two factors). that's for the CSS

4 - But now, you need to compute quality rating (0 to 2 per d20) keeping in mind that you need to check each versus 2 values: a calculated sum AND the focus).

5 - Then maybe you will have to spend a few more chips to better up your quality rating.

I'm sorry but after a few hours of gaming, if like me you like looooong games you realize that you've been taking a loooot of that time just multi-checking multi things all time.

In the end it's not that i do not like the game, it's just that I don't like the physical appearance of this booklet. However, I really think that the system is a wrong mix of 2 different ways to roleplay (MSS & CSS) that is intellectually fine but practically cumbersome and exhasuting. I'll watch over the scenarios but frankly I will keep up the fasa version for the system (and ease of reading....) or use other systems to roleplay them.

I would have loved to love this game wholeheartedly, but frankly, i do not.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Star Trek Adventures Quickstart
Publisher: Modiphius
by Mark W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/20/2017 13:56:03

A great introduction to the new Star Trek rpg. Easy to understand and start up a game.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Star Trek Adventures Quickstart
Publisher: Modiphius
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 10/04/2017 12:22:32

After a couple of pages advertising assorted Star Trek miniatures, the full rules and other accessories, we get to Chapter 1: Quickstart Rules. This consists of an introduction, basic operations and combat. The introduction provides brief basic details of what the game is about and what you need to play it, then there's a run-through of how a character is described in terms of attributes, skills and so on, and how these are used in play. There's a lot packed in, and as well as providing the detail you need to run the Quickstart could make a good introduction for new players joining an existing game. Finally, there's sufficient information for running a brawl. The concentration is on person-on-person combat, but there's a nice sketch of a Galaxy-class starship showing where all the weapons are located.

Chapter 2: Away Mission 'Signals' contains a short adventure. Apparently a small vessel, a runabout, has gone missing whilst investigating a mysterious signal emanating from the Carina Nebula, and the party's starship has been tasked to investigate. Finding a planet, the characters are beamed down to the surface as an away party, and that's when the fun begins... settlers and Romulans provide opposition, and there's the source of that signal to sort out as well. The notes are full of advice for the first-time GM, explaining how to use the rules to best effect throughout.

Finally, six pregenerated characters are provided: first officer, science officer, medic, engineer, a bridge officer, and the security chief. Amongst this we have a Vulcan, an Andorian and a Trill. Quite a bit of variety for the players to try out.

This presents a good introduction to an excellent interpretation of Star Trek as a role-playing game, with an adventure that captures the spirit of the show well. The illustrations and style of the whole thing suggests The New Era, but it would adapt reasonably to a different era if you insist. It certainly leaves you wanting to play some more of this game!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Star Trek Adventures Quickstart
Publisher: Modiphius
by Alfred R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/04/2017 08:58:48

At 33 pages, the STA QS does an admirable job of distilling the 376 page rulebook into something easily manageable in an afternoon of gaming at home, or for a convention slot. This does mean that a lot of details are missing, such as the procedures for ship to ship combat, and the scientific method rules for testing hypotheses, but these absences are entirely forgivable. As a Quickstart, the document does a good job of communicating how the system works, being clear and concise, while giving a taste of the kinds of variations you might expect in the rules proper. The specific rules provided are largely adequate for the included scenario.

It is worth calling out, however, that the QS consists primarily of two to three fight scenes, which raises two concerns. Firstly, that the QS isn't really showing off what a Star Trek system can do, though it will certainly teach the ins and outs of the dice system. Secondly, that relevant combat mechanics such as using Cover and Guarding yourself -- details and maneuvers mentioned in the rules -- are not given any mechanical explanation. The latter is frustrating given the emphasis of the scenario, but the absent rules are not in anyway dealbreaking or game-ending.

The scenario itself is simplistic: there's a missing shuttle, you investigate, there's an ambush, check out the mystery of missing crewman, the attackers, and an alien signal. It has the makings of something that could be very interesting, with some elbow grease from the GM. The scenario presents a more questions than answers, while focusing primarily on dice rolling, and the intent seems clear: get players interested in the system, but leave them with questions, and then use the expanded ruleset of the core book to give them the tools to resolve those plot threads. It's not a bad model, and looking at the QS as a tool to get players into the game, leaving dangling questions is certainly sensible.

The format of the QS has attracted a lot of negative commentary, and is worth mentioning. At this moment, while the pregenerated characters are printed on white background, the rules are printed with white and pastel font on black pages. This decision emulates the iconic computer displays of the Next Generation, Deep Space 9, and Voyager television series. The production values do an excellent job of living up to that aesthetic, which draws the reader into the setting and timeline of the product. With that said, the choice does render the rules prohibitively inconvenient to print out. How relevant this is, I cannot say, as everyone plays differently: I and many of my players run games off their phones and laptops, regularly. Meanwhile, the rest of my players run their games with physical materials, so all I can say is it's a matter of preference.

Ideally, alternative versions of this document will be made available soon. Modiphius did a good job providing a printer-friendly version of the core rules, and has responded to requests for a printer-friendly version of their Voyages adventure book, so hopefully they will follow suit here. In the meantime, I cannot dock points for what is ultimately a user experience preference.

In short: the rules distillation is impressive, while teasing more of what the core rules contain would have been nice. The scenario doesn't feel very thematic and is overly insistent on fighting; a poorly rounded play experience is worth docking points, but the way it leans directly into using the core rules to handle the dangling plot threads is welcome. Overall, a fine quickstart.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Star Trek Adventures Quickstart
Publisher: Modiphius
by Will H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/02/2017 21:33:32

The quickstart is produced in saturated colors on an entirely black background. No pdf layers, so impossible to print without using $20 in toner. Worthless.

I run tabletop precisely to not be on electronic devices while playing.

I run demo games at a brick-and-mortar shop. People play in my games, and buy the systems they play. I can't run this without a printable version. My players won't buy it. Neither will I.

Really, how hard is it to produce a pdf with layers, so we can at least turn off the jet black background to print? Or a light-hued printable version? Isn't there a single person at Modiphius who can imagine how their products might actually be used?



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 13 (of 13 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates