DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
The Anatomy of Adventure $4.95
Average Rating:4.8 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
15 7
0 0
1 1
0 0
0 0
The Anatomy of Adventure
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
The Anatomy of Adventure
Publisher: M.T. Black Games
by Alex F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/08/2021 14:59:40

Solid, practical advice. Definitely a helpful book for freelancers and hobbyists alike.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Anatomy of Adventure
Publisher: M.T. Black Games
by Eike Z. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/10/2021 02:53:22

While it was an entertaining (and short) read, I wouldn't be able to answer the question "what is the anatomy of adventure" after reading it. The title is a misnomer - this is not a book about "the anatomy of adventure", it is a collection of essays in which the author talks about how and why he thinks adventures that he published was a success. Most tips are about how to successfully publish adventures. There are no "these are the learning points in this chapter" summaries either. Parts of it feel like advertisement for the authors published work.

Since I don't intend to publish adventures but was looking for tips on how to prepare scenarios and possible storylines (adventures?) for my own sessions, this book wasn't of much use to me.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The Anatomy of Adventure
Publisher: M.T. Black Games
by Ryan J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/22/2020 05:53:30

Solid gold. I just finished this book (pretty much in one go it was so engaging). The author does a great job at walking you through his creative process with plenty of examples, honesty, and bits of wisdom. About 20 pages in I realized I needed to be taking notes and ended up with a full page gems.

Even if you don't intend to publish adventures, this book will help you homebrew your own worlds for your table. It will even help you spice up published adventures. Again, solid gold. If you DM regularly, read this book.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Anatomy of Adventure
Publisher: M.T. Black Games
by Jeffrey L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/07/2020 12:07:33

M.T. Black offers a masterclass in adventure design, showing through examples of his own work how to take a single conceit and spin it into a published module. Each chapter offers its own lesson on design, but the overarching lesson is how the author learned these principles through the work of writing his adventures. Newly fledged GMs and established writers alike will benefit from the examples and inspiration herein.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Anatomy of Adventure
Publisher: M.T. Black Games
by Jonathan G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/30/2020 10:59:07

This book is filled with good advice, not just for those who wish to publish, but also for those who simply want to up their adventure design skills. Using smooth but succinct to-the-point prose, the author provides a series of examples from his personal experience, peppered generously with excellent advice for the experienced and novice game master alike, and everyone in-between.

A quick, enjoyable, and inspirational read. I highly recommend!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Anatomy of Adventure
Publisher: M.T. Black Games
by Sinan T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/25/2020 11:53:39

This is a fantastic and inspiring read. It's great to see the author assess what worked and what didn't work in their adventure writing career, lessons learned along the way. The quote that I wrote down for future reference: "I prefer the image of shuffling forward: we might be moving slowly, but to move at all is the thing.”



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Anatomy of Adventure
Publisher: M.T. Black Games
by Peter M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/19/2020 15:24:36

If you want to share your adventures with the community, this is a must read. It is a true insight into the development process, with open and honest assessments, shared experiences and suggestions for ‘how-to’ publish on the TTRPG syndicate. This work is a dissection of the intricate workings in the craft M.T.Black has spent countless hours perfecting, and his quest continues. A very uplifting piece of literature that inspires a ‘can-do’ attitude that anything is possible with hard work, and desire.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Anatomy of Adventure
Publisher: M.T. Black Games
by Derek G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/12/2020 09:48:19

Tons of great advice for an aspiring adventure writer. Chapter 10 completely changed how I felt about dungeon design.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 8 (of 8 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates